Countertops, refinished floors, backsplash… Oh My!

Clearly it has been too long since my last post. I’ve been trying to figure out why I’ve lacked the desire the write lately, when I stumbled across another blogger who I feel says it best. When you are so close to the end of your renovation journey, you are so focused on just getting there, that taking pictures and blogging doesn’t seem as important.

I began this blog for two reasons. First, I wanted a way to keep track of our “before” and “afters” to reflect on our first home together and what we have done. Second, I thought it would be a great way to share with friends and family, near but mainly far, who may not have a chance to visit that often. I feel as though this blog has definitely served it’s intended purpose, which is why although I’m a little unmotivated to blog, blog I must! (I’ll be glad I did later).

We have clearly been very busy in our kitchen, although our projects have been spread out enough that it really doesn’t feel that way! I’ll share in the order of which they happened, first being the countertops! We were so excited and so ready for these to be installed. Although we intended to wait a bit longer, we simply felt the need for them and knew it would make our kitchen feel that much more complete. We really lucked out and found two remnants (the same of course) that would work for our space. We were not picky when it came to our countertops, we simply wanted a dark colored stone for a good price. After looking at four different places, we finally found them!

image

With countertops came our even so wonderful stainless steel farmhouse sink. This was something we dreamt about for a long time!

image

Once our countertops were installed, we spent the remainder of our weekend unpacking and moving back into our kitchen. Boy, did that feel good! We were content with the countertops for a while, especially since we moved in and our kitchen was entirely functional, however we got the itch to finally refinish our floors.

Our floors were another long awaited project. When we first moved to our house, we loved the hardwood floors in the living room and knew we wanted to extend them throughout. It has been so incredible to have our dream of renovating our house become a reality. Because we had literally decided what we wanted to do with the floors on the day we moved in, this was a huge deal to us! The only thing that had been undecided was the color we would stain the floors. Originally I wanted to stain the floors a dark color to offset all of the white wainscoting. Once we installed the unfinished white oak however, Justin and I were both drawn to its natural color. Given our fur baby is quite active, we figured sticking with the natural color would help hide the scratches she is bound to leave. Fortunately, once everything was sanded down, it was a perfect match!

Before:

image  image

During:

image  image

After:

image

image

After a few days we were finally able to put our furniture back. Although at first having our floors refinished didn’t seem like a big deal inconvenience-wise, it was so stressful! We  had to make arrangements for Baylee, could not use really any of our downstairs because of the dust and plastic everywhere and ultimately left for the weekend so we didn’t have to breath in the smell of the poly. I’m so glad it’s finished, for more reasons than one!

image

Last but not least, Justin and I installed the backsplash in our kitchen this weekend. I have to admit, I thought it would only take a few hours, yet here we are a day and a half later finally calling it a wrap. Of course I picked a more complicated pattern using subway tile, which really didn’t help. After many hours of browsing on Pinterest, I just had to try herringbone. I had total confidence we could do it and sitting here tonight with it finished, we are both so happy with it! Fortunately we had plenty of supplies left over from tiling our bathroom floors, so really all we needed was the tile.

Before:

image

image

During:

image

image

Annnnd after:

image

image

image

I took these pictures literally an hour ago when the grout was still drying. The color grout we used is “warm gray,” but it does dry very light. I know this because it is the same grout we used in our downstairs bathroom.

I strongly suggest that if you ever have the urge to install a herringbone backsplash, do it. The pattern it a little tricky at first and there were many odd cuts Justin had to measure for, but it was so worth it. We love how it came out!

Like I mentioned before, I am so ready to just have all of our finishing touches done in our kitchen! Although I love renovation projects and could totally be Nicole Curtis at other houses, I’m very ready to stop working on my own house, and start enjoying it. Yes I’ve been told, the projects never end, but they must be a wee bit less time consuming than gutting your kitchen. 😉

Until next time…

image

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

