Hint of Mint

I know what you’re going to think, “Ashley, you’re crazy.” And maybe I am, but hear me out. I have been on vacation for the past 16 days. The beginning was filled with family, friends and celebrating the holidays. It was time well spent, and we wouldn’t have changed it for the world. In fact, we were talking today about the holidays and how fast they seemed to go by.

Upon starting my vacation, I didnt have any house projects planned. I was going to celebrate, rejuvenate and return to work. And then, we had a snowstorm. For whatever reason, when there’s a snowstorm, I get this little thrill thinking we’re going to be snowed in and immediately start planning projects we can complete around the house, which is exactly what I did.

Like I said, I’ve been on vacation for 16 days. Although I love vacation and the beginning was just what we needed, I was starting to get a little antsy. I was set and ready to get back to my kiddos. However on Thursday, school was canceled. Now don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t upset about the snow day in the least. I still get excited over snow days as I did when I was younger, no matter how long I’ve already been on vacation! So what did I do? I began working around the house and finished some touch-up work that was long-overdue. This included painting the downstairs closet doors, touching up paint in the office, living and dining rooms, and sanding and repainting a few different spots on some closet doors. Pretty uneventful, but definitely needed.

I was satisfied with what I had accomplished, until I got the call that school had also been canceled the following day. This changed things, and I started to feel very ambitious. I mentioned to Justin upon finishing some odds and ends around the house that I felt like taking on the guest room over my February vacation. Very much like our bedroom, we simply did not do the job well the first time around, and needed to spackle, paint trim and change hardware. Given that I had Friday off, along with Saturday AND Sunday, it was a no brainer. Why do tomorrow, what you can do today? So I got to work. Friday was spent skim coating the walls and sanding them down for a fresh coat of paint.

image  image

I refuse to show you the “befores,” for fear you’ll do exactly what I said above, think I’m crazy, so instead, take my word for it that there were MANY dings and dents in the wall. When all of the walls were sanded, Justin and I went to pick out a new, lighter green, Benjamin Moore’s Hint of Mint. Justin confessed that he never liked the old green, and to be honest, I wasn’t a fan of it either. Valspar’s Mint Frost, was a little too “minty” for us – ha ha…

We are very pleased with the new color, and like it much better! While I painted the walls, Justin painted the trim. Together we had the walls and trim painted, new hardware in place, and a shiny waxed floor by the end of Saturday night. I have to say, it looks great, and although a lot of work, it was definitely worth it! We have spent more time talking about the work still to do in this room, than it actually took to just do it!

image  image  image

To have all three bedrooms COMPLETE, and I really mean it, they are as complete as complete gets, is a great feeling. We are done, and will be for a long time. (I promise, Justin). 🙂

Now I bet you’re asking yourself, “What’s next?” I know I did…

With all of our touch-up work completely done, there’s really not much left for me to do! All rooms that we began work on last December are done, complete, finished. So you can imagine, I’m at a bit of a loss for the next few weeks.

I have two projects I would like to work on. They are not big ones, and can be completed in an afternoon. One, I’m not sure I’ll be doing yet, so I’ll save that for another day. The second project, one that really DOES need to be done, is staining our stairs. We tore carpet off of them last winter, and have yet to touch them! They are painted, but need to be stained. This may be one that I tackle while waiting for late February and March, which WILL be busy, yay!

So what’s to come? In just a few weeks we will be installing a pellet stove and two new doors to the outside. In addition to this, we hope to start demo on the downstairs bathroom! Justin is going to order the pellet stove and shower insert tomorrow, so we’ll see what gets here first. That being said, I’m finally ready to show you our beloved downstairs bathroom…

image  image  image

Wallpaper, yellow tile, dark shower… it needs to go. All of it. This will be a complete gut job! So stay tuned… 😉

I hope you all enjoyed your holidays as much as we did, and had a great start to the New Year. Happy 2014!

image

Leave a Reply

