Pinterest Addict?

One of my favorite things about owning a home is decorating a new space. Especially with the many changes and updates we’ve done around our home, decorating has been something I’ve really found to enjoy! Pinterest has been the main site of my inspiration, as it has linked me to many fabulous blogs and DIY projects. But while some ideas around our home have been Pinterest inspired, others I’ve managed to think of on my own. I guess you could say Pinterest has sparked my own creativity!

Here is a yarn wreath I made, idea from Pinterest, for our front door. Wreaths can be expensive, but I knew I wanted something to spice up the outside of our home. I went to Michaels and found some materials that cost me a mere $11. Aside from some frustration with the yarn getting tangled, it was fairly simple to do!

image

I chose to use a wreath made of hay, because the circular foam ones suggested on Pinterest didn’t seem to give it much depth. This one was also less expensive!

image  image  image

It did take some time to wrap the yarn around the wreath, but the biggest dilemma of all was the large knot of yarn you can see in the background of my last picture. This took hours to unravel, and sadly, I had to cut the yarn, and it’s STILL not done. My advice for the next time around, ravel the yarn into a ball first!

image  image

I wrapped navy blue yarn around to make strips, and then a little pop of yellow. I lastly added some orange flowers and pearls to give it a little something more.

image  image

image

Not too bad for my first one! It currently hangs on our front door and looks great!

image

Another Pinterest inspired project I fell in love with is hanging blankets from an old ladder. When we moved into our house, the previous owners happened to leave us lots of little goodies. Some of these included two old wooden ladders. Just a few weeks ago Justin was able to cut the ladder down, and this weekend I scrubbed it and finally hung some quilts off of it that Justin’s mom and my mom made for us over the years. It looks great!

image  image

image

image

Last but not least, I took on a small project of my own that wasn’t actually Pinterest inspired! My friends refinished an old window into a picture frame and framed an engagement photo of Justin and I for our wedding gift. We absolutely love the picture and finally  hung it up in our living room last week!

image

The window obviously needed to be placed on a larger wall, and although this wall works perfectly, it still looked a little bare. That being said, I had the idea to add old shutters to either side of the window! My mom and I went to an antique store a few weekends ago, and I happened to find a pair of green vintage shutters that were the exact size of the window! They are perfect. After sprucing them up a bit, Justin and I hung them on either side of the window this weekend.

image

image

image

image  image

image

Although the green really doesn’t go with the “color scheme” of this room, I think that’s what makes them so unique and great for this space! We had talked about refinishing them, but they have a story to tell in the shape they are in now, and I really wouldn’t want them any other way, or color!

Well, there you have it, what I’ve been up to these last few weeks aside from some uneventful weeding and cleaning up the backyard! Justin and I will most likely do some minor things around the house in the new two weekends, but you should know that we are taking a much needed vacation from it all and going to Hawaii for 10 days at the end of June! It’ll be great to have some true R&R where we won’t be looking at unfinished projects all the time! But, don’t be fooled, the walkway is first on the list when we get back… 😉 Until next time!

One thought on “Pinterest Addict?

  1. Wow an old ladder does make a great quilt rack!
    And the shutters are perfect for the picture, good idea!
    Of course ,I love the wreath, maybe we have another florist in the family:)
    Can’t wait to see more!!!

Leave a Reply

